Westfield W-League Round 4 Review

Perth Glory have a lone grip on top spot in the Westfield W-League thanks to a club record win, combined with some late heartbreak for Sydney FC.

The Sky Blues looked set to maintain their hold at the summit alongside the Glory, only to concede a late equaliser in a 1-1 draw against the visiting Melbourne Victory on Monday.

A day earlier Perth Glory claimed a stunning 10-1 scoreline against Western Sydney Wanderers. Striker Kate Gill scored a competition-high five goals, including an 11-minute hat-trick, to add to doubles from Sam Kerr and Caitlin Foord.

Sydney FC had a far harder task against champions Melbourne Victory in the first meeting between the pair since last year’s epic semi-final. Gema Simon eventually drew the visitors level with three minutes remaining to cancel out Jasmyne Spencer’s goal for the Sky Blues.

A goal in each half saw Canberra United returned to winnings ways in style with a 2-0 victory against last season’s grand finalists Brisbane Roar, who slipped to their third defeat in four outings.

Finally, Newcastle Jets proved their semi-final credentials with a confident 4-0 win over Adelaide United, helped by a Rhali Dobson brace.

Canberra United 2 (Grace Field 36’, Michelle Heyman 57’)

Brisbane Roar 0

Saturday 4 October 2014

McKellar Park, Canberra

Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Canberra United: Chantel Jones, Julie De Angelis (Rebecca Kiting 82’), Grace Field, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey (Holly Houston 90’), Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Catherine Brown

Cautions – None

Brisbane Roar: Nadine Angerer (gk), Laura Alleway, Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence (Sunny Franco 70’), Hayley Raso (Ayesha Norrie 65’), Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Katrina Gorry, Vedrana Popovic, Tameka Butt, Emily Gielnik (Larissa Crummer 57’)

Substitutes – Kate Stewart (gk)

Cautions – Hayley Raso 50’, Katrina Gorry 86’

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Helen Petinos 51’)

Perth Glory 10 (Sam Kerr 45’, 45+1’, Kate Gill 50’, 52’, 60’, 68’, 78’, Caitlin Foord 53’, 86’, Alanna Kennedy 73’)

Sunday 5 October 2014

Marconi Stadium, Sydney

Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Western Sydney Wanderers: Sham Khamis (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Helen Petinos, Rachael Soutar, Kendall Johnson, Michelle Carney, Lorena Bugden (Grace Henry 71’), Hannah Beard (Rhianna Pollicina 71’), Demi Koulizakis (Tia Gavin 68’), Victoria Guzman

Substitutes – Trudy Bourke (gk)

Cautions – Victoria Guzman 29’, Rachel Soutar 49’

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll, Bronwyn Studman, Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Elisa D’Ovidio (Shannon May 55’), Collette McCallum (Shawn Billam 66’), Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain, Sam Kerr (Gabrielle Marzano 72’)

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – none

Adelaide United 0

Newcastle Jets 4 (Victoria Huster 28’, Emily van Egmond 46’, Rhali Dobson 48’, 73’)

Sunday 5 October 2014

Adelaide Shores Football Centre, Adelaide

Kick-off: 2.30pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Adelaide United: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Monique Iannella, Dylan Holmes (Lauren Steer 54’), Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon, Lisa-Marie Woods (Daila-Tais Borg 58’), Isabel Hodgson (Rachel Alonso 65’), Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham, Tiarn Powell, Kristy Moore

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk)

Cautions – Melissa Barbieri 86’, Lauren Steer 90’

Newcastle Jets: Claire Coelho (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale (Elizabeth Copus-Brown 78’), Hayley Crawford, Ashley Spina (Cassidy Davis 15’), Katherine Reynolds, Angela Salem, Tori Huster, Amber Neilson, Tara Andrews, Emily van Egmond, Rhali Dobson (Clare Wheeler 85’)

Substitutes – Renee Rudder (gk)

Cautions – none

Sydney FC 1 (Jasmyne Spencer 60’)

Melbourne Victory 1 (Gema Simon 86’)

Monday 6 October 2014

Lambert Park, Sydney

Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Sydney FC: Casey Dumont (gk), Teresa Polias, Alesha Clifford, Jasmyne Spencer (Olivia Price 81’), Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger, Amy Harrison (Trudy Camilleri 93’), Renee Rollason, Natalie Tobin (Chloe Logarzo 74’), Teigen Allen, Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk)

Cautions – Servet Uzunlar 51’

Melbourne Victory: Brianna Davey (gk), Hannah Brewer (Beattie Goad 81’), Lauren Barnes, Stephanie Catley, Amy Jackson, Racheal Quigley (Gema Simon 36’), Christine Nairn, Lisa De Vanna, Ella Mastrantonio (Gulcan Koca 74’), Emma Checker, Elli Reed

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – Amy Jackson 19’, Gema Simon 57’, Lisa De Vanna 88’