Westfield W-League 2014/15 Season launched

The seventh edition of the Westfield W-League was officially launched today at the Westfield Corporate Offices in Sydney with representatives from all eight clubs – Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Canberra United, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers – in attendance ahead of the opening round this weekend.

Football Federation Australia CEO David Gallop believes that there is a genuine excitement around Women’s Football in Australia at the moment and the Westfield W-League is the vanguard.

“The last season of the Westfield W-League was truly entertaining, full of skill and drama, which saw both crowds and broadcast numbers rise.

“This season of the Westfield W-League will take on an added dimension after the Westfield Matildas qualified for the next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup through their outstanding performances at the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in May where they finished runners-up to Japan.

“All Australian players will be looking to use the upcoming Westfield W-League season as the shop window to impress the national team coaching staff for a place in the final squad that will represent Australia at the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada next June.

“Add to that the high calibre of international players that we have again attracted to the competition and I believe that this season of the Westfield W-League will be even better than the last,” concluded Gallop. 

Gallop also confirmed that ABC TV will once again cover the ‘match of the week’ live and exclusive on ABC1 throughout the competition that includes all matches during the Westfield W-League Finals Series.

The Westfield W-League action kicks off this weekend with the Newcastle Jets hosting the reigning champions Melbourne Victory at Magic Park on Saturday (13 September). Whilst on Sunday, Brisbane Roar travel across the Nullabor to face Perth Glory at Ashfield Sports Club, Sydney FC host Adelaide United at Lambert Park in Sydney and the Western Sydney Wanderers go head to head with Canberra united at Campbelltown Stadium in the ABC TV match of the round.

The Westfield W-League 2014/15 season will conclude with the Westfield W-League Grand Final on Sunday 21 December.