search icon
close icon
search icon

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

League Logo

Oct 26, 2014   |  10:05AM AET

Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 7 Review

Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 7 Review

A remarkable weekend in the Westfield W-League was marked by a competition record attendance, and upset wins for bottom pair Western Sydney Wanderers and Adelaide United.

In Melbourne, the Victory slipped to a 1-0 defeat against fellow semi-final contenders Canberra United in front of a record 14,068 on hand for the first match in the double-header at Etihad Stadium.

Leaders Perth Glory saw their six-match winning start to the season ended as Adelaide United collected a 1-0 home victory.

Western Sydney Wanderers secured a maiden derby win over Sydney FC to jump off the bottom of the table.

Two-time champions Brisbane Roar slipped to bottom place with their 4-1 defeat at Newcastle Jets, as Westfield Matildas midfielder Emily van Egmond scored a double.


Newcastle Jets 4 (Tori Huster 36’, Emily Van Egmond 37’, 61’ pen, Laura Alleway 48’ o.g.)

Brisbane Roar 1 (Tameka Butt 90’)

Saturday 25 October 2014

Magic Park, Newcastle

Local kick-off: 1pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Newcastle Jets: Claire Coelho (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Hayley Crawford, Katherine Reynolds, Angela Salem, Tori Huster, Amber Neilson (Clare Wheeler 75’), Tara Andrews, Emily van Egmond, Rhali Dobson (Grace McIntyre 68’), Cassidy Davis (Brooke Miller 80’)

Substitutes – Renee Rudder (gk)

Cautions – none

Brisbane Roar: Kate Stewart (gk), Laura Alleway, Amy Chapman (Larissa Crummer 59’), Clare Polkinghorne, Brooke Spence, Hayley Raso (Sunny Franco 68’), Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Katrina Gorry, Vedrana Popovic (Emily Gielnik 46’), Tameka Butt

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk)

Cautions – Larissa Crummer 65’


Adelaide United 1 (Kristy Moore 61’)

Perth Glory 0

Saturday 25 October 2014

Adelaide Shores Football Centre, Adelaide

Local kick-off: 2.30pm

Referee: Kirralee Andruschak

Adelaide United: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Monique Iannella, Danielle Brogan, Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon (Alexandra Chidiac 83’), Lisa-Marie Woods, Isabel Hodgson, Daila-Tais Borg, Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham (Tiarn Powell 83’), Kristy Moore

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk), Dylan Holmes

Cautions – Kristy Moore 86’, Daila-Tais Borg 88’

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll (Carys Hawkins 78’), Bronwyn Studman, Shannon May, Alanna Kennedy, Gabrielle Marzano, Shawn Billam (Elisa D’Ovidio 60’), Caitlin Foord, Kate Gill, Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), Thia Eastham

Cautions – Sarah Carroll 11’, Kate Gill 33’


Melbourne Victory 0

Canberra United 1 (Ashleigh Sykes 29’)

Saturday 25 October 2014

Etihad Stadium, Melbourne

Local kick-off: 4.45pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Melbourne Victory: Cassandra Dimovski (gk), Hannah Brewer (Racheal Quigley 72’), Lauren Barnes, Gema Simon (Beattie Goad 65’), Stephanie Catley, Amy Jackson, Christine Nairn, Lisa De Vanna, Ella Mastrantonio, Emma Checker, Elli Reed

Substitutes – Tori Snelleksz (gk), Gulcan Koca

Cautions – Lisa De Vanna 48’, Ella Mastrantonio 56’

Canberra United: Chantel Jones (gk), Kendall Fletcher, Grace Field, Caitlin Munoz (Julia De Angelis 72’), Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Sally Rojahn, Nicole Begg, Ashleigh Sykes (Grace Maher 93’), Lori Lindsey, Stephanie Ochs

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Catherine Brown

Cautions – Ellie Brush 89’


Sydney FC 1 (Jasmyne Spencer 55’)

Western Sydney Wanderers 2 (Keelin Winters 16’, Teigan Allen 63’ o.g.)

Sunday 26 October 2014

Sydney United Sports Centre, Sydney

Local kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Sydney FC: Sian McLaren (gk), Alesha Clifford (Liz Ralston 28’), Jasmyne Spencer, Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger, Amy Harrison, Renee Rollason, Natalie Tobin (Trudy Camilleri 73’), Chloe Logarzo, Teigen Allen, Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk), Olivia Price

Cautions – Teigan Allen 15’

Western Sydney Wanderers: Trudy Burke (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Caitlin Jarvie (Grace Henry 94’), Helen Petinos, Rachael Soutar, Kendall Johnson, Keelin Winters, Michelle Carney, Hannah Beard, Linda O’Neill (Jordan Baker 85’)

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk), Rhianna Pollicina

Cautions – Kendall Johnson 29’, Jessica Seaman 39’, Linda O’Neill 57’, Caitlin Jarvie 61’

Westfield W-League ladder:​  http://www.w-league.com.au/ladder

Editor's Choice

View More

-30560 seconds ago

Isuzu UTE A-League 2022-23 Ins and Outs

Teams are planning for the 2022-23 Isuzu UTE A-League season. Here are all the ins …

Isuzu UTE A-League 2022-23 Ins and Outs

-25460 seconds ago

‘It’s the wild, wild west’: Hutch trying to change the narrative in El Paso
‘It’s the wild, wild west’: Hutch trying to change the narrative in El Paso

2 days ago

On the cusp of a Premier League return, Joe Lolley signs for Sydney FC. Here’s w...
On the cusp of a Premier League return, Joe Lolley signs for Sydney FC. Here’s w...

5 days ago

‘One door shuts, another door opens’: Why Rodwell switched Sydney Derby allegian...
‘One door shuts, another door opens’: Why Rodwell switched Sydney Derby allegian...