No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

League Logo

Sep 21, 2014   |  9:37AM AET

Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 2 Review

Westfield W-League 2014/15 Round 2 Review

Canberra United, Perth Glory and Sydney FC have all maintained perfects in the Westfield W-League with each recording a second win from as many starts to maintain a share of top spot.

Canberra have a slim lead on goal difference after a hard-fought 1-0 win at Adelaide United with the winner coming from Stephanie Ochs just past the hour mark.

Sydney FC saw off rivals Brisbane Roar in a typically tough and dramatic contest between the league’s two most successful teams. Sydney FC skipper Renee Rollason scored in each half with the Sky Blues forced to hold on after Teigan Allen received the first red card of the season.

Melbourne Victory were 5-3 winners in a goal-laden win over Western Sydney Wanderers as the champions bounced back from last weekend’s opening-round defeat.

On Saturday, Perth Glory secured a 2-1 win over Newcastle Jets on the road with Alanna Kennedy nabbing what proved to be the winner just before half-time.

Newcastle Jets 1 (Tara Andrews 62’)

Perth Glory 2 (Marianna Tabain 34’, Alanna Kennedy 45+1’)

Saturday 20 September 2014

Magic Park, Newcastle

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Kelly Jones

Newcastle Jets: Claire Coehlo (gk), Georgia Yeoman-Dale, Hayley Crawford, Ashley Spina, Katherine Reynolds, Angela Salem, Tori Huster, Amber Neilson (Cassidy Davis 66’), Tara Andrews, Emily van Egmond, Rhali Dobson (Grace McIntyre 46’)

Substitutes – Renee Rudder (gk), Elizabeth Copus-Brown

Cautions – nil

Perth Glory: Mackenzie Arnold (gk), Sarah Carroll, Bronwyn Studman, Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord (Thia Eastham 92’), Kate Gill, Elisa D’Ovidio (Shawm Billam 77’), Collette McCallum (C), Shelina Zadorsky, Marianna Tabain (Gabrielle Marzano 74’), Sam Kerr

Substitutes – Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Cautions – Caitlin Foord 61’, Kate Gill 80’, Alanna Kennedy 86’

Adelaide United 0

Canberra United 1 (Stephanie Ochs 61’)

Sunday 21 September 2014

Adelaide Shores Football Centre

Kick-off: 2.30pm

Referee: Katie Patterson

Adelaide United: Melissa Barbieri (gk), Lauren Steer, Jessie Wharepouri (Rachel Alonso 63’), Katrine Pedersen, Emily Condon (Alexandra Chidiac 75’), Lisa-Marie Woods, Isabel Hodgson, Jenna McCormick, Katie Holtham (Dylan Homes 69’), Tiarn Powell, Kristy Moore

Substitutes – Sarah Willacy (gk)

Cautions – Nil

Canberra United: Chantel Jones, Catherine Brown, Grace Field, Caitlin Munoz, Ellie Brush, Michelle Heyman, Nicole Begg (Grace Gill 80’), Ashleigh Sykes, Lori Lindsey (Grace Gill 50’), Rebecca Kiting, Stephanie Ochs (Holly Houston 92’)

Substitutes – Melissa Maizels (gk), Julia De Angelis

Cautions – Michelle Heyman 66’, Lori Lindsey 93’

Melbourne Victory 5 (Amy Jackson 20’, Racheal Quigley 24’, 47’, Lisa De Vanna 52’, Gulcan Koca 74’)

Western Sydney Wanderers 3 (Keelin Winters 12’, 56’, Michelle Carney 93’)

Sunday 21 September 2014

Broadmeadows Valley Park, Melbourne

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Melbourne Victory: Brianna Davey (gk), Hannah Brewer, Stephanie Catley, Amy Jackson, Racheal Quigley (Gulcan Koca 69’), Christine Nairn, Lisa De Vanna (Tiffany Eliadis 76’), Ella Mastrantonio, Emma Checker, Beatrice Goad (Gema Simon 59’), Maika Ruyter-Hooley

Substitutes – Cassandra Dimovski (gk)

Cautions – Nil

Western Sydney Wanderers: Trudy Burke (gk), Caitlin Cooper, Jessica Seaman, Helen Petinos (Jordan Baker 83’), Rachael Soutar, Grace Henry, Keelin Winters, Michelle Carney, Hannah Beard (Rhianna Pollicina 76’), Demi Koulizakis, Chloe O’Brien

Substitutes – Sham Khamis (gk), Tia Gavin

Cautions – Helen Petinos 71’

Brisbane Roar 1 (Emily Gielnik 38’)

Sydney FC 2 (Renee Rollason (17’, 77’)

Sunday 21 September 2014

Queensland Sport & Athletics Centre, Brisbane

Kick-off: 3pm

Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Brisbane Roar: Kate Stewart (gk), Laura Alleway, Clare Polkinghorne, Hayley Raso (Sunny Franco 65’), Kim Carroll, Elise Kellond-Knight, Larissa Crummer, Katrina Gorry, Vedrana Popovic, Tameka Butt, Emily Gielnik (Ayesha Norrie 78’)

Substitutes – Teagan Micah (gk), Angela Beard

Cautions – Larissa Crummer 68’, Vedrana Popovic 79’

Sydney FC: Casey Dumont (gk), Teresa Polias, Jasmyne Spencer (Heidi Makrillos 85’), Servet Uzunlar, Nicola Bolger (Alesha Clifford 90’), Amy Harrison, Renee Rollason, Natalie Tobin (Olivia Price 56’), Chloe Logarzo, Teigan Allen, Samantha Johnson

Substitutes – Alyssa Harris (gk)

Cautions – Teigan Allen 44’, 61’, Samantha Johnson 45+2’

Red Card: Teigan Allen 61’

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague

Editor's Choice

View More

2 days ago

‘One door shuts, another door opens’: Why Rodwell switched Sydney Derby allegian...

Sydney FC recruit Jack Rodwell fronted the media after becoming the latest player to cross …

‘One door shuts, another door opens’: Why Rodwell switched Sydney Derby allegian...

3 days ago

Isuzu UTE A-League 2022-23 Ins and Outs
Isuzu UTE A-League 2022-23 Ins and Outs

5 days ago

Promoted from within: the new signings getting first ALM crack after rising thro...
Promoted from within: the new signings getting first ALM crack after rising thro...

6 days ago

Courted by Euro giants, best friends with Koulibaly & conquered PSG: How Rudan l...
Courted by Euro giants, best friends with Koulibaly & conquered PSG: How Rudan l...