W-League Preview: Glory v Roar

This contest between the dynamic new-look Perth Glory and perennial title challengers Brisbane Roar already shapes as a red-letter fixture on this season’s Westfield W-League calendar.

Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar

Sunday 14 September 2014

Ashfield Sports Club, Perth

Local kick-off: 12pm (2pm AET)

Both teams are not only stacked with Matildas stars, but there are x-factor players all over the park and a football spectacle for the neutral seems assured. It may well be that three points secured here are crucial come the end of the season.

Jamie Harnwell’s recruiting for the Glory has been the talk of the off-season. In come dynamic duo Caitlin Foord and Sam Kerr, the latter making a return to her hometown. Their combination with Kate Gill in attack, and ball-playing midfield ace Collette McCallum is surely one to whet the appetite. Also arriving are goalkeeper Mackenzie Arnold, Matildas defender Alanna Kennedy, plus former Canada U-20 captain Shelina Zadorsky. Still the Glory are trying to keep a lid on things with Kerr claiming “underdog” status at this week’s media launch.

Brisbane are largely unchanged from last season and will surely be in the mix once again, having never missed a finals series. In fact, with a full season under coach Belinda Wilson behind them, expect the Roar to be more cohesive than last term. 2013 World Player of the Year Nadine Angerer returns in goal once again although she will miss this encounter due to FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying commitments with Germany.         

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum (C), 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk), 20. Sam Kerr

Season ins: Mackenzie Arnold (Western Sydney Wanderers), Alanna Kennedy (Western Sydney Wanderers), Gabrielle Marzano (The Gap FC, Qld), Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC, Sky Blue FC/USA), Shelina Zadorsky (Ottawa Fury, Canada), Katie Schubert (Ashfield SC, Perth), Sam Kerr (Sydney FC, Western New York Flash/USA)

Seasons outs: Sasha Andrews (Pali Blues/USA), Cecilie Sandvej (FC Sand/Germany), Chantel Jones (Canberra United), Jess Dillon

Unavailable: none

Brisbane Roar squad: 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Hayley RASO, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 15. Brooke GOODRICH, 16. Angela BEARD, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk), 21. Teagan MICAH (gk)

Seasons ins: Angela Beard, Teagan Micah (both Queensland Academy of Sport)

Season outs: Joanne Burgess (retired), Erika Elze (released)

Unavailable: Nadine Angerer (Germany national team duty – two weeks), Amy Chapman (knee – one week), Sunny Franco (omitted)