Transfer news: Roar sign Aussie attacker


Brisbane Roar today confirmed the signing of former Australian youth international Petros Skapetis ahead of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season.


Skapetis returned to Australia following six seasons abroad in England and has made a stunning start to his career in Brisbane with three goals already in pre-season.

The young forward became the 10th player in history to score on debut for the Brisbane Roar when he netted against Peninsula Power FC in the side’s 4-2 win in early August.

The 22-year-old also hit the back of the net with a cracking goal against Melbourne Victory in the Westfield FFA Cup Round of 32 and on Monday in the Roar’s 2-1 win against the Chinese U-22 Olympic national team.



“It’s a great moment for me. I would like to thank the club for giving me this opportunity,” Skapetis said.

“I’m ready, and I look forward to the start of the season. I’ve got a point to prove and I’m very grateful to be part of the Brisbane Roar Football Club.

“All I can do is continue to work hard and take my opportunities when they present themselves. I’m learning every day from the boss (John Aloisi).

“I want to make sure I perform well, stick to our playing structures and if I do that I know the goals will continue to come.”



Aloisi’s side are preparing to face fierce Hyundai A-League rivals Melbourne Victory on Friday night in Ballarat. 

Victory eliminated Roar from the FFA Cup Round of 32 with a 5-1 win earlier this month at Perry Park. 

“I’m definitely looking forward to facing Victory again. Even though it is pre-season, we want to win every game ahead of the opening day of the season,” Skapetis added.

“It was a consolation goal I scored against them in the (Westfield) FFA Cup but we want to make it right on Friday and put in a strong performance and return to Brisbane with a positive result.”

Brisbane Roar FC Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Squad:

Goalkeepers: Michael Theo, Jamie Young

Defenders: Daniel Bowles, Corey Brown, Luke DeVere, Jack Hingert, Dane Ingham, Jade North, Connor O’Toole, Avram Papadopoulos

Midfielders: Joe Caletti, Brett Holman, Thomas Kristensen, Matt McKay(c), Mitchell Oxborrow, Jacob Pepper

Attackers: Shannon Brady, Nick D’Agostino, Corey Gameiro, Fahid Ben Khalfallah, Massimo Maccarone, Petros Skapetis

Scholarship Player:  Emilio Martinez