Transfer news: Reds secure Senegalese striker


Adelaide United have been boosted by news impressive Senegalese striker Baba Diawara has agreed to a two-year deal with the club.

Diawara’s new contract means the talisman will remain with the Reds until at least the end of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 season.

Head here for Adelaide’s official website

After a tumultuous season for the 2015/16 champions, Diawara’s signing signals the first step in strengthening the squad for next season.

The 29-year-old scored five goals in 13 appearances since arriving at the Reds in February.

“When we agreed to bring Baba in during the January window, we knew his potential and were always confident he could deliver,” Adelaide’s General Manager of Football, Ante Kovacevic said. 

“In the games he’s played in this season, it’s been obvious how hard he works for the team and is a constant threat to our opposition. 

“We’re very happy Baba has agreed to stay here in Adelaide and be part of our club moving forward.”

Diawara is not the only player to pledge his future to the club with young defender Ben Warland also putting pen-to-paper on a new two-year deal.

Perth Glory's Mitch Oxborrow and the Reds' Nikola Mileusnic involved in a full-blooded challenge at Coopers Stadium.

Meanwhile, Nikola Mileusnic and Ryan Kitto have triggered clauses in their respective contracts to extend their stay with Adelaide for a further season.

“As it stands we have 14 contracted players on our roster for the new season, which is greater than we had last season,” Kovacevic stated. 

“The re-signings of Baba, Isaías, Michael Marrone, and Taylor Regan, as well as the addition of Paul Izzo, are all positive steps in rebuilding our squad for the new campaign.” 

Meanwhile, Spanish midfielder Isaias was presented the Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion gong at the club’s Awards ceremony on Wednesday evening.

Youngster Riley McGree won the Hyundai A-League Rising Star award following a breakout season by the 18-year-old, which included a national team call-up to the Caltex Socceroos in March.

Adelaide United’s current squad for 2017/18: 

Lachlan Brook, Baba Diawara, Tarek Elrich, Ben Garuccio, Isaias, Paul Izzo, Ryan Kitto, Daniel Margush, Michael Marrone, Riley McGree, Nikola Mileusnic, Jordan O’Doherty, Taylor Regan, Benjamin Warland.