Transfer news: Adelaide announce player departures


Adelaide United have confirmed that five players have departed the club following the completion of the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season.

Dylan McGowan, Sergio Cirio, George Mells, John Hall, and Jesse Makarounas have all left the Club following the conclusion of their contracts.

Reds defender confirms European move

McGowan, Cirio, Mells, and Hall were all involved with the Club’s historic Hyundai A-League Premiership and Championship double-winning squad of 2015/16.

Dylan McGowan has signed a multi-year deal with Portuguese Primeira Liga side Pacos Ferreira.

Contract negotiations with Eugene Galekovic , Marcelo Carrusca, and Iacopo La Rocca are on-going with their futures at the Club still to be agreed upon by all parties. 

The futures of Kim Jae-sung, Marc Marino, Mark Ochieng, and Eli Babalj are also yet to be agreed upon, with the Club looking to appoint a Head Coach prior to making a determination. 

Kim Jae-Sung competes for the ball with Jiangsu striker Alex Teixeira.

Jordan Elsey will be given every opportunity to prove his fitness after recovering from his second ruptured Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL). 

As a result, the Club’s General Manager of Football, Ante Kovacevic, will continue to scout Australian talent thoroughly until a Head Coach is appointed. The newly appointed Head Coach will then have final say over the three remaining foreign player spots, as well as all remaining players to complete Adelaide United’s squad for the 2017/18 season.

Adelaide United’s current squad

Isaias, Baba Diawara, Tarek Elrich, Michael Marrone, Taylor Regan, Ben Garuccio, Paul Izzo, Riley McGree, Nikola Mileusnic, Jordan O’Doherty, Ryan Kitto, Daniel Margush, Benjamin Warland, Lachlan Brook.