Sydney FC star claims Johnny Warren Medal


Milos Ninkovic from Sydney FC capped off a tremendous season by claiming the Johnny Warren Medal at the gala Dolan Warren Awards, which was held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney on Monday night.

Samantha Kerr  from  Perth Glory  took out the Julie Dolan Medal, the Westfield W-League’s highest honour.

Sam Kerr.

Ninkovic  received 44 points from a panel that included former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives. He was followed by  Diego Castro  ( Perth Glory  – 37 points),  Nicolás Martínez  ( Western Sydney Wanderers FC  – 29 points),  James Troisi  ( Melbourne Victory  – 27 points) and  Kosta  Barbarouses  ( Wellington Phoenix  – 22 points).

Kerr  received 23 points and was followed by  Katrina Gorry  ( Brisbane Roar FC  – 21 points),  Sofia Huerta  ( Adelaide United  – 17 points),  Natasha Dowie  ( Melbourne Victory  – 13 points), Ashleigh Sykes  ( Canberra United  – 11 points) and  Megan Oyster  ( Newcastle Jets  – 11 points).

Jamie Maclaren  ( Brisbane Roar FC ) was named the Hyundai A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year for the second time and  Remy Siemsen  ( Sydney FC ) was the winner of the Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award. Both  Maclaren  and  Siemsen  will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Jamie Maclaren celebrates after scoring against the Wanderers.

Sydney FC  Head Coach  Graham Arnold  received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and  Bobby Despotovski  from  Perth Glory  was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year, as voted for by their peers.

Melbourne Victory’s Besart Berisha  and  Brisbane Roar FC’s Jamie Maclaren  were the joint winners of the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorers for the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season with 19 goals apiece.  Canberra United’s Ashleigh Sykes  took out the Westfield W-League 2016/17 Golden Boot Award courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season while  Pierce Waring  from  Melbourne Victory  was the top goal scorer for the Foxtel National Youth League 2016/17 season with 6 goals.

Besart Berisha was the hero for Melbourne Victory in their semi final win over Brisbane Roar.

Danny Vukovic  from  Sydney FC  collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and  Lydia Williams  from  Melbourne City FC  received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Tim Cahill  from  Melbourne City  FC scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his stunning 35m strike against Melbourne Victory in Round 2.  Samantha Kerr  from  Perth Glory scored the Westfield W-League 2016/17 Goal of the Year for her 18 th  minute strike against Sydney FC in Round 6.

Tim Cahill netted the decisive goal as Melbourne City downed Adelaide United 1-0 on Friday night.

Marc Tokich  from  FFA Centre of Excellence  was named the Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year.

The  Central Coast Mariners  won the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award after accruing the least number of yellow and red card points whilst  Adelaide United  won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with the  FFA Centre of Excellence  claiming the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Mariners players celebrate a goal in their 2-0 win over Newcastle Jets on Sunday afternoon.

In the referee awards,  Jarred Gillett  was named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award with  Kate Jacewicz  collecting the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year, extending her record winning run to seven titles.                                                                    

Melbourne Victory  received the Community Champion Award in recognition for their community & corporate social responsibility programs and partnerships. The club’s “ Our Game, Our Community”  initiative encapsulates their suite of programs delivered in schools, clubs and a number of community events engaging well over 150,000 people and driving membership over 26,000. Melbourne Victory’s Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League players completed 568 community appearances totalling over 1200 hours adding value to community programs and inspiring the next generation of players throughout Victoria. Melbourne Victory has shown the way in the female space engaging 3,440 girls YTD, which is a 32% increase on the previous year. Through their charity partners, Cancer Council Victoria and The Starlight Foundation, Melbourne Victory has impacted the lives of the local community by creating awareness and raising funds to address the effect of all cancers for all Victorians and transforming the experiences of hospitalisation and treatment for seriously ill children and their families.