Preview: Brisbane Roar v Canberra United

Early arrivals at Suncorp Stadium for the Hyundai A-League double-header will have the opportunity to witness one of the great rivalries of Australian women’s football.

Brisbane Roar v Canberra United

Saturday 29 November 2014

Suncorp Stadium

Local kick-off: 1pm (2pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #BRIvCBR

Brisbane Roar and Canberra United have enjoyed some famous battles dating back to the inaugural grand final won by the Roar way back in January 2009.

The Roar have enjoyed a strong historical record over their southern rivals but of course this season has not been so kind to the two-time champions. Currently the Roar are only separated from last place by goal difference.

Though Brisbane have managed just two wins this season they have far too many proud and combative individuals to let up just because their finals hopes are gone. Not to mention the idea of Brisbane being handed the wooden spoon is simply unthinkable.

Boosting the home sides is the return of classy left-sided midfielder Elise Kellond-Knight, although fellow Westfield Matildas team-mates Amy Chapman and Laura Alleway are again set to sit out.

Canberra head north knowing that a win could see them move second, at least for 24 hours, and closer to a home semi-final.

They have a hold o fourth behind Sydney FC on goal difference and three points behind Melbourne Victory, though with two games in hand on the champs.

Once again the team from the nation’s capital are set to benefit from a settled and unchanged squad for yet another crucial match.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Hayley RASO, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 16. Angela BEARD, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 18. Sunny FRANCO, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk)

Ins: Elise Kellond-Knight (returns from injury)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Laura Alleway (foot – two weeks), Amy Chapman (calf – one week), Brooke Goodrich (ankle – one week)

Canberra United squad: 1. Chantel JONES, 2. Catherine BROWN, 3. Julia DE ANGELIS, 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 5. Grace FIELD, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 10. Grace MAHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole BEGG, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Tegan RIDING, 16. Lori LINDSEY, 20. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 22. Stephanie OCHS

Ins: Grace Maher (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Meg McLAUGHLIN (knee – season)