Graham Arnold & Cheryl Salisbury make history with latest honour

Graham Arnold has spoken to the media following the confirmation that the Socceroos will face Lebanon at CommBank Stadium in the next round of World Cup qualifiers.

Socceroos coach Graham Arnold and Matildas legend Cheryl Salisbury have been granted Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) life memberships.

At a special function held on the SCG and in front of the heritage Members and Ladies pavilions, Arnold and Salisbury were among the 12 inductees who were presented with their membership badges on Wednesday night.

Arnold and Salisbury are the first footballers to receive a life membership.

Featured image: SCG

The Socceroos boss became the first Aussie coach in the nation’s history to take the national team to the Round of 16 at the 2022 FIFA World Cup, while Salisbury is one of the Matildas’ most iconic players, having made over 150 caps and gone to four FIFA Women’s World Cups.

Some of the other inductees include cricket legends Steve Waugh, Glenn McGrath, Belinda Clark and Mark Taylor, along with former Wallaby David Campese and Sydney Swans great Michael O’Loughlin.

“When I look at these names, we are talking about the best of the best,” NSW Minister for Sport Steve Kamper said.

“The players and athletes who captured our imaginations. The champions that forged a new path. The stalwarts that built clubs and codes into the powerhouses they are today. As well as those whose generosity and philanthropy has given so much to our wider community.”

The 2023 group induction is the third, following those in 2000 and in 2008, which saw 33 memberships granted between the two ceremonies.

The new life members are:

• Graham Arnold (football)

• Ken Arthurson (rugby league)

• David Campese (rugby union)

• Belinda Clark (cricket)

• Richard Colless (Australian Rules)

• Glenn McGrath (cricket)

• Michael O’Loughlin (Australian Rules)

• Nick Politis (rugby league)

• Cheryl Salisbury (football)

• Basil Sellers (philanthropy)

• Mark Taylor (cricket)

• Steve Waugh (cricket)