Dolan Warren Awards voting wrap


Who won each award? How many votes did they receive and how did the voting work?

Winners’ gallery: Dolan Warren Awards

Johnny Warren Medal Voting System

The Johnny Warren Medal is the Hyundai A-League’s Player of the Year award.

The judging panel for the Johnny Warren Medal included former professional players, referees, technical experts and members of the media for the Hyundai A-League regular season.

Panel members from each of the four groups were appointed to vote on a 3-2-1 basis on every match, replacing the previous system that saw current players vote in three blocks after Rounds 9, 18 and 27.

A member of the following groups voted on all 135 Hyundai A-League regular season matches:

  • A former player – including winners of the Johnny Warren medal from the NSL and Hyundai A-League eras (Damien Mori and Nick Carle
  •  A member of the FFA Technical staff including the Socceroos coaching staff (including former winner Ante Milicic)
  • The match officials that officiated on the game
  • A senior member of the Australian football media including FFA broadcast partners, print and radio journalists

Click here to see the points allocated for every match of the 2015/16 Hyundai A-League regular season

The changes were implemented following consultation with all Hyundai A-League clubs, the PFA and the Warren Family.

Diego Castro from Perth Glory was named the Johnny Warren Medal winner at the Dolan Warren Awards night.

Diego Castro

Under a new voting system for the Johnny Warren Medal, Diego Castro received 34 points from a panel that included former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives.

He was closely followed by Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City FC – 33 points), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City FC) and Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City FC) both on 27 points and Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United – 23 points).

Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United took out the Julie Dolan Medal, the Westfield W-League’s highest honour, with Dylan Smith from Adelaide United claiming the Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year Award.

Ashleigh Sykes

Brisbane Roar FC’s Jamie Maclaren was named the Hyundai A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year and Melbourne City FC’s Larissa Crummer was the inaugural winner of the Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award. Both Crummer and Maclaren will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

After orchestrating a miraculous turnaround from last place in Round 8 to winning the Premiers Plate in Round 27, it was no surprise that Adelaide United Head Coach Guillermo Amor received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Craig Deans from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year as voted for by their peers.

Guillermo Amor

Melbourne City FC’s talismanic Uruguayan striker, Bruno Fornaroli, was a clear winner of the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2015/16 season with a record breaking 23 goals whilst his club mate, Larissa Crummer took out the Westfield W-League 2015/16 Golden Boot Award courtesy of her 11 goals throughout the season. Joseph Katebian from Melbourne Victory was the top goal scorer for the Foxtel National Youth League 2015/16 season with 10 goals.

Melbourne City FC’s Scottish International Kim Little picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Kim Little

Melbourne City FC’s former Danish International goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Kaitlyn Savage from Adelaide United received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Central Coast Mariner Roy O’Donovan scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his 83 rd  minute strike against Adelaide United in Round 25. Perth Glory’s US-import Vanessa Di Bernardo scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her 88 th  minute strike against Brisbane Roar FC in Round 5.

Roy O'Donovan

Brisbane Roar FC picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for a record 5th time after accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Melbourne City FC won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with the Newcastle Jets winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

In the referee awards, it was a case of déjà vu with Jarred Gillett again named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award and Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collecting the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year extending her record to six titles.

The Western Sydney Wanderers FC collected the inaugural Community Champion Award in recognition for their corporate social responsibility programs and partnerships. The Wanderers work has impacted the lives of the local community by creating awareness and raising funds to address the issues of domestic violence, bullying and racism throughout the Western Sydney region.



Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Diego Castro – Perth Glory

Hyundai A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year:  Jamie Maclaren – Brisbane Roar FC

Goalkeeper of the Year:  Thomas Sorensen – Melbourne City FC

Nike Golden Boot Award:  Bruno Fornaroli – Melbourne City FC (23 Goals)

Goal of the Year:  Roy O’Donovan – Central Coast Mariners (Rd 25)

Coach of the Year:  Guillermo Amor – Adelaide United

Fair Play Award:  Brisbane Roar FC

Referee of the Year:  Jarred Gillett

Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year:  Dylan Smith – Adelaide United

Foxtel National Youth League Golden Boot Award:  Joseph Katebian – Melbourne Victory

Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC

Melbourne City

Johnny Warren Medal 2015/16 – Voting – Top 5





Diego Castro

Perth Glory



Aaron Mooy

Melbourne City FC



Bruno Fornaroli

Melbourne City FC



Jamie Maclaren

Brisbane Roar FC



Marcelo Carrusca

Adelaide United





Julie Dolan Medal: Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United

Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award: Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City FC

Players Player of the Year: Kim Little – Melbourne City FC

Goalkeeper of the Year:  Kaitlyn Savage – Adelaide United

Goal of the Year: Vanessa Di Bernardo – Perth Glory (Rd 5)

Coach of the Year: Craig Deans – Newcastle Jets

Golden Boot Award: Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City FC

Fair Play Award:  Melbourne City FC

Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz