Brisbane Roar named Queensland Sport Team of the Year


Brisbane Roar was named Queensland Sport Team of the Year at last night’s 20th annual Queensland Sport Awards.

The prestigious award was in recognition of the club’s double achievement in winning the Hyundai A-League Premiership and Championship last season – the Roar’s third Grand Final success in four years.

Brisbane Roar Football Club Managing Director Sean Dobson said it was a proud moment for the club to be recognised as the state’s premier sporting team from a distinguished list of finalists.

“Brisbane Roar is honoured to receive this award as recognition of our club’s continued commitment to excellence and achievement,” Dobson said.

“We are proud to be named as Queensland’s premier sports team in a state that has such a rich and diversified sporting community.”

In accepting the award, Brisbane Roar captain Matt Smith said the club’s achievements over the last five years had been “ground-breaking”.

“The hard work by everyone at the club and the commitment to our philosophy of playing attacking entertaining football has been brave and has changed the way we are regarded in the Queensland sporting landscape forever,’’ Smith said.

Brisbane Roar’s marquee player Thomas Broich was among the 12 nominees for Queensland Sports Star of the Year while the Hyundai A-League 2014 Grand Final at Suncorp Stadium in May ­­- in which the Roar beat Western Sydney Wanderers 2-1 in extra-time in front of a capacity crowd – was a finalist in the Queensland Sport Event of the Year award.

Former Brisbane Roar coach Mike Mulvey was also among the award winners last night. He was named the Queensland Sport Awards’ Coach of the Year.

Brisbane Roar’s success at the awards presentation came less than 24 hours after Brisbane Roar W-League midfielder Katrina Gorry was named as the Asian Football Confederation Player of the Year at the AFC Annual Awards in Manila on Sunday night.