About NAB Young Footballer of the Year


The NAB Young Footballer of the Year program in the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League supports young football talent, whilst recognising the value that junior clubs make to the community and the development of young players.

Each month, outstanding performances by young players are rewarded with a monthly nomination for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. At the end of the season a panel of experts vote for an overall winner for both leagues using a 3-2-1 points basis.

NAB has introduced the opportunity for fans to have their say, opening a Fan Vote to assist the expert panel in selecting the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year. Each winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with meeting their financial goals.

NAB recognise the impact that junior clubs have on a player’s career, which is why each nominees’ junior club receives a NAB Club Recognition Award, including practical and financial resources to assist the club in continuing to develop future Australian football stars.

Australian and New Zealand Hyundai A-League players aged 23 years and under and Westfield W-League players aged 19 years and under are eligible to win the award.

NAB Hyundai A-League Young Footballer of the Year winners:

Year Name Club
2015/16 Jamie Maclaren Brisbane Roar
2014/15 James Jeggo Adelaide United
2013/14 Adam Taggart Newcastle Jets
2012/13 Marco Rojas Melbourne Victory
2011/12 Mathew Ryan Central Coast Mariners
2010/11 Mathew Ryan Central Coats Mariners
2009/10 Tommy Oar Brisbane Roar
2008/09 Scott Jamieson Adelaide United
2007/08 Bruce Djite Adelaide United
2006/07 Adrian Leijer Melbourne Victory
2005/06 Nick Ward Perth Glory

NAB Westfield W-League Young Footballer of the Year winners:

Year Name Club
2015/16 Larissa Crummer Melbourne City