A-Leagues Club Championship

Club Championship Ladder

It’s a simple concept, but one that goes to the heart of why we created the A-Leagues: it’s not men’s football, or women’s football, it’s just football.

It’s about the players, the teams and the clubs you follow across Australian football, whoever they are.

Which is why, when the Liberty A-League season kicks off this weekend, and with the Isuzu UTE A-League well underway, a brand new competition kicks off too – The A-Leagues Club Championship.

Introduced for the first time this season, the A-Leagues Club Championship Trophy will be awarded to the football club whose men’s and women’s A-League teams perform the best across both their respective leagues.

The A-Leagues Club Championship, a world-leading move in professional football, is an opportunity for us to do what no other code has done and place the same level of importance on three points in the women’s game as with the men’s.

But it’s one thing to say that, and to underline our code is equally for men and for women. By adding silverware to crown the best football club in Australia, the A-Leagues are taking a really important step to ensuring that success is recognised equally in both the women’s game and the men’s game.

Ideally we would like to align the A-Leagues Club Championship with a commercial partner who shares the same belief in the power of equality and of the power of football to reflect the sort of society we all believe in.
We have an ongoing commitment to a level playing field across our game. We want both of the A-Leagues to become partners at the top of the game: furthering football’s position as the country’s most inclusive sport to grow the game for everyone.

So how will it work? The recipient of the A-Leagues Club Championship Trophy will be the club with the highest combined points from both its men’s and women’s A-League teams at the end of the Isuzu UTE A-League Men and Liberty A-League Women’s regular seasons respectively.

If teams are tied on points, then we will follow the usual football formula: first goal difference, then goals scored. If we still have teams equally placed, it’ll be the highest number of points accumulated in matches between the clubs concerned across both leagues and the goal difference in those matches. If we still can’t split them, which would indicate one amazing season, we will use the lowest number of Fair Play Points accumulated, and finally the toss of a coin. 

To be eligible for the Club Championship, an A-League club must have a team in the Isuzu UTE League and a team in the Liberty A-League Women’s competition.

In the 2021/22 A-Leagues season that means the following nine teams: Adelaide Utd, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC, Wellington Phoenix, and Western Sydney Wanderers.

So you can keep track of who’s winning across both leagues, the A-Leagues Club Championship standings will be represented throughout the A-Leagues season in a separate ladder.
Standings will be first published on [KEEPUP] after the completion of the first round of the Liberty A-League matches.